Spreading the Word

Special Olympics, Ending the R-word, Getting Involved

Freezin’ for a Reason

on March 1, 2013

Last Saturday, when I woke up I checked my Twitter feed by habit. As usual, because it was 8 AM on a Saturday morning, my feed was full of complaints and moans such as:

“I don’t want to get out of bed.”

“I just want to sleep all day.”

“My bed is so warm, I don’t want to move.”

Well folks, while everyone was tweeting about how warm their bed  was – I was putting on a bathing suit to get ready to jump into the ocean. Yes, you heard me right. The Atlantic Ocean on February 23rd in Massachusetts.

No, I’m not crazy, (Well, maybe a little!) But, the real reason why I jumped into the ocean was to raise money for Special Olympics Massachusetts.

I have been involved with the Special Olympics for years. I volunteered at the school day games in high school and now as a college junior, I am the event director for the school day games in Metro-West Massachusetts. I always wanted to partake in the Polar Plunge but it never worked out. So, this year I made a commitment to myself and to Special Olympics athletes across Massachusetts that I would raise as much money as I could, put on a bathing suit in the middle of February and dive into the ocean.Polar Plunge 2013

After hounding friends and family on Facebook and the customers at work, I raised nearly $350 in just a couple of weeks.

Every time someone donated to me they said, “This is a great thing your doing, but why are you jumping into the ocean?” And every time, I replied back, “Why not?”

But let me tell you, it was amazing! Once I got there and saw everyone dressed in ridiculous costumes and got over the initial winter chill, I actually started to warm up. I took pictures with people, talked to them about how much they had raised and most importantly, their tactic for jumping in.

After we all changed into our “plunging clothes”  we all stood together and waited for the “Ready, Set, Plunge!” Suddenly, it was a mad rush to the water and in just a few seconds I diving head first into the ocean.

After everyone dried off and changed into warm clothes there was food, music and awards for best costume, top fundraiser and most spirited plunger.

The whole day was one big celebration for the fact that all together, plungers and chickens had raised almost $300,000 for Special Olympics.

It was definitely worth the PLUNGE!

One response to “Freezin’ for a Reason

  1. […] Raise money for Special Olympics: The success of Special Olympics and their athletes relies heavily on donations from family, friends, businesses and YOU! You don’t have to give a lot, you don’t even have to give out of your own pocket. You can join a team, hold a fundraiser or sponsor an athlete. I’m a college student, working two jobs so I don’t have a lot of money to give to organizations or charities (although I wish I could) so back in February I participated in the Polar Plunge. I fundraised on Facebook, I asked friends and family for donations and I had a donation jar at work. All together I raised $350. Read about my experience here. […]

Leave a Reply

mscott2418

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Special Olympics Missouri

Changing lives through sports.

Special Olympics Project UNIFY

Youth leaders promoting inclusion, acceptance and social justice.

Autism with a side of fries

Special Olympics, Ending the R-word, Getting Involved

The World of Special Olympics

The sun never sets on our Special Olympics Movement. See what's happening now...

Friendship Circle -- Special Needs Blog - Email Feed Mailchimp 5.1

Special Olympics, Ending the R-word, Getting Involved

